Winners of the 2014 Kavli Prize Scholarships for Science Journalists

Kavli Foundation | 20 February 2014

The Kavli Medals

Chul Joong Kim, President of the World Federation of Science Journalists (WFSJ), announced the winners of five new scholarships for science journalists at AAAS in Chicago on the 15th of February. The scholarships, funded by the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, will give the journalists the opportunity to take part in all the events during the Kavli Prize week in Oslo in September. Nils Chr. Stenseth, the Academy's President, will present the highlights of the Kavli Prize week.

The winners of the 2014 Kavli Prize scholarships are:

  • Wilson da Silva (Australia) former editor in chief, Cosmos Magazine

  • Federico Kukso (Argentina) Journalist at Muy Interesante magazine

  • Emilie Martin (France) head of section and journalist at Ciel et Espace

  • Subhra Priyardarshini (India) editor at Nature India

  • Vijay Sree Venkatraman (USA) freelance writer at Science Careers, Scientific American, New Scientist, Christian Science Monitor, amongst others

Thanks to the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, the five science journalists will have the opportunity to attend the Kavli Prize in Oslo, Norway, between September 8th and 11th, 2014, and meet and exchange with the winners of the Kavli Prize awarded in astrophysics, nanoscience and neuroscience.

The winners of the 2014 Kavli Prize in astrophysics, nanoscience and neuroscience will be announced on the 29th of May by the President of the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters in Oslo. The announcement will be transmitted live to New York where it will be part of the opening event at the World Science Festival.

His Majesty The King will present the Kavli Prize to the Laureates at an award ceremony in Oslo, Norway on the 9th of September. The Norwegian government will host a banquet in honour of the Kavli Prize Laureates at Akershus Castle later the same day.

King Harald presents the 2013 Kavli Prize in Astrophysics to David Jewitt, Jane Luu and Michael Edwards Brown

The Kavli Prize Laureate Lectures will take place at the University of Oslo on the 8th of September.

"Higher Education in the 21st Century - The technological revolution in open education" is the topic for this year's Kavli Prize Science Forum, and will also take place on the 8th of September. The Kavli Prize Science Forum is a biennial international forum to facilitate high-level, global discussion of major topics on science and science policy and is organized for the third time in 2014.

The Kavli Prize Science Forum in 2012 on science and global health was chaired by BBC's science correspondent Pallab Ghosh. (Photo: NTB/Scanpix)

The Kavli Prize Popular Science Lectures on the 10th of September will feature as one of speakers Rebecca L. Skloot, a freelance science writer who specializes in science and medicine. Her first book, The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks, was one of the best-selling new books of 2010.

The Kavli Prize week will end with the symposia in astrophysics, nanoscience, and neuroscience at the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters in Oslo and at the Norwegian University of Science and Technology in Trondheim.

The Kavli Prize carries a cash award of 1 million US dollars in each of the scientific fields. In addition, each of the Laureates receives a gold medal and a scroll. The Kavli Prize is awarded every two years - the first time in 2008 - and is a partnership between the US-based Kavli Foundation, the Norwegian Ministry of Education and Research and the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters.

© 2015-21 Wilson da Silva. All rights reserved.